# 常见问题与解答

# 本模块的性能如何?

IP 检查和 CC 防御花费常数时间,其它的检查花费 O(nm) 的时间,其中 n 是相关规则的条数,m 为执行正则匹配的时间复杂度,但是每次检查过后会自动缓存本次检查的结果,下次检查相同的目标时就可以使用缓存而不是检查全部的规则。不会缓存 POST 请求体的检查结果。

# 缓存策略

LRU

# post检测失效

本模块出于性能考虑只会在 Post 请求体在内存中时检查,若不在内存中则跳过检查。 您可以通过修改配置文件来解决这个问题。

http {
    ...
    client_body_buffer_size 10M;
    client_body_in_file_only off;
    ...
}

client_body_buffer_size 的说明 (opens new window)client_body_in_file_only 的说明 (opens new window)

# fork() failed while spawning "worker process" (12: Cannot allocate memory)

可能是过多地使用 nginx -s reload 导致的,本模块会在读取配置的时候申请一些内存,但是不知为何 nginx -s reload 之后这些内存不会立即释放,所以短时间内频繁 nginx -s reload 就极可能导致这个错误。

# 可以在运行时修改规则么?

不可以,本模块只会在 nginx 读取配置时读取规则。nginx 会在启动和 reload 时读取配置。

# CDN 对 IP 检查的影响

如果你使用 ngx_http_realip_module (opens new window) 获取真实 IP 的话,则本模块在检查 IP 时就会使用真实的 IP。

# 正则表达式拒绝服务攻击(ReDoS)

ReDoS 是指使用的正则表达式存在缺陷时,攻击者可以使用一个精心构造的字符串来大量地消耗服务器的资源,比如导致正则引擎的灾难性的回溯。

本模块有两种措施可以用来缓解此类攻击。

  • 本模块使用的 PCRE 库执行正则表达式,PCRE 在编译时即可指定主循环的计数器上限,超出上限自动停止。默认上限为 500000。你也可以在编译时手动调整,详见 pcre2 build man page (opens new window)

  • 本模块会缓存所有正则的检查结果(POST 检查除外),这样在不触发缓存淘汰流程的情况下,下次遇到用于攻击的字符串也无需再次执行正则表达式。

# FAQ

# How does this module perform?

IP inspection and CC defense take constant time, other inspections take O(nm), where n is the number of relevant rules and m is the time complexity to perform regular matching, but the results of this inspection are automatically cached after each inspection, so that the next time the same target is inspected, the cache can be used instead of checking all the rules. The result of the POST request body check is not cached.

# Cache Policy

LRU

# Post Inspection Failure

For performance reasons, this module will inspect whether it is in the memory before inspecting the request body. If it is, it will inspect normally, otherwise skip the inspection. You can try to edit nginx.conf.

http {
    ...
    client_body_buffer_size 10M;
    client_body_in_file_only off;
    ...
}

client_body_buffer_size (opens new window) and client_body_in_file_only (opens new window).

# fork() failed while spawning "worker process" (12: Cannot allocate memory)

It may be caused by excessive use of nginx -s reload. The module requests some memory when reading the configuration, but somehow the memory is not released immediately after nginx -s reload, so frequent nginx -s reload in a short period of time will most likely cause this error.

# Can I change the rules at runtime?

No, this module will only read the rules when nginx reads the configuration. nginx will read the configuration on startup and reload.

# Is IP inspection affected by CDN?

If you use the ngx_http_realip_module (opens new window) module to get the real IP, then this module will use the real IP for inspection.

# Regular expression Denial of Service (ReDoS)

The regular expression denial of service (ReDoS) is an algorithmic complexity attack that produces a denial-of-service by providing a regular expression that takes a very long time to evaluate.

ReDoS - Wikipedia (opens new window)

  • This module uses the PCRE library to execute regular expressions. The PCRE library can specify the upper limit of the main loop counter at compile time and stop automatically when the upper limit is exceeded. The default limit is 500000. You can also adjust it manually at compile time, see the pcre2 build man page (opens new window).

  • This module caches all regular inspections (except POST inspections), so that the next time you encounter a string for an attack, you do not need to execute the regular expression again without triggering the cache cleanup process.